Thursday, June 4, 2015

"Summer of Secrets" by Charlotte Hubbard

Summer has come to Willow Ridge, but Rachel Lantz is looking forward to a whole new season in her life--marriage to strapping carpenter Micah Brenneman, her childhood sweetheart. When a strange Englischer arrives in the cafĂ© claiming to be the long-lost sister of Rachel and her twin Rhoda, Rachel feels the sturdy foundation of her future crumbling--including Micah's steadfast love. As the days heat up and tempers flare, Rachel and Micah will learn that even when God's plan isn't clear, it will always lead them back to each other. . . 

Author Biography
Charlotte Hubbard sold her first historical romance in 1990, and she's been a slave to her overactive imagination ever since. As she writes, her stories invariably take on a life of their own, different from the way she proposed them: unforeseen characters and plot twists come along, and they keep her guessing right along with her readers!

Charlotte has lived in the Midwest most of her life. When she's not writing, she loves touring historic homes, trying new recipes, crocheting, and playing with her Border Collie, Ramona. She's a Presbyterian deacon, sings in her church choir, and plays in the percussion ensemble. She's married to a fine man who--bless him--has never once suggested she get a real job!

My Review:

"Summer of Secrets" by Charlotte Hubbard gets 5 stars from me. The main setting is a restaurant and a bakery. Eighteen years ago Rebecca /Tiffany (one of the triplets) is swept downstream in a flood and is thought dead! But then she comes in the Sweet Season cafe and she hasn't been raised Amish so that causes trouble with the Bishop who wants Miriam( the girls mother) to marry him. This story is just a really good story that will have you cheering for Miriam and Rachel and Micah and Rebecca/Tiffany. It will also make you wish you could tell the Bishop he is Wrong. One thing about this story that makes it enjoyable is that it could have happen. It has happy and sad things. I loved the ending but will leave that to you to discover for yourself. In the back of the book are recipes for the food served in the restaurant. The story continues in the next book "Autumn Winds".

No comments: