Tuesday, December 24, 2019

"Daybreak" by Beckie Lindsey Book Tour and GiveAway

Daybreak FB cover About the Book

Book: Daybreak
Author: Beckie Lindsey
Genre: YA Fiction
Release Date: July, 2019
Daybreak coverEvery girl has a secret she hopes the light will never find—
but the demons already have.
Krystal, Mackenzie, Tammi, and Sadie fight a spiritual battle between unseen forces of good and evil that reaches deadly proportions.
When Krystal’s relationship with lifelong friend, Bryce, turns romantic, she is faced with the most important decision of her life. No matter her choice—everything will change forever.
As the friends rally to help Krystal, they each face their own battles against the forces of darkness and within themselves.
When tension between the group and members of a rock band continue to escalate, only time will tell which bonds will grow stronger and which will break.
“The thief comes only to kill, steal, and destroy.”
Click here to get your copy.
Beckie Lindsey
About the Author
Beckie Lindsey is an award-winning author, poet, blogger, and the editor of Southern California Christian Voice, a division of One Christian Voice, a national news syndicating agency. She is a major coffeeholic and enjoys a good book with a cat on her lap. She also loves to hike and hang out with family and friends. Beckie and her husband, Scott have three adult children, two adorable cats and live in California.

"Daybreak" by Beckie Lindsey is the third book in the "Beauties from Ashes" series. I really recommend reading these book in order as each book starts where the other ended. First all I, want to say the author does give a warning that this book might cause past issues or present ones to cause a reader more sorrow and to not to continue reading if they do.  The warning is because this book deals with the subjects of sexual abuse, incest, bulimia, alcoholism, low self-esteem, battling negative thoughts, anger to the point of hate, dealing with evil forces and blaming God, and depression and anxiety. All three books have dealt with these subjects. The books are written with much detail given to the daily struggle of four teenage girls.  I felt like I was watching the story unfold as I read each of these books.  These books have scenes between angels and demons. These books have made me more fully realize that demons and angels do fight again each other for our souls. 

I would recommend these books to mature and older readers. I realize that the genre for these books is YA, but I really enjoyed this series, and I am far from an young adult as today is my birthday and I'm sixty.   I don't know if I enjoyed these books because I have dealt with some of the issues that these four girls are dealing with and I was hoping as I was reading that they would be overcomers. I can't tell you if that happened because you see a fourth book in the series is coming.  But I will tell you that these books does offer hope. This series is fiction but I say that these books are "real life" way too often.

I received a complimentary copy from the author and Celebrate Lit. These opinions are my own.

More from Beckie

Why I write YA and the BFA series

I believe a teenager still exists inside each of us.

We hear a familiar tune from our “glory days” and are instantly tapping our toes. Mentally, we’re back in high school —poofy bangs, scrunchie, neon off-the-shoulder sweatshirt — and all. Oh, wait. That’s me back in the ‘80s!

Ah, yes. There is something wonderfully awful about those coming-of-age years.

From the first kiss to the first breakup, there are memories we cherish and some we don’t care to ever revisit. Being a teen can be exciting, confusing, painful, joyous, or even all of those things at once!

No matter how different your teenage experience was from mine, one thing is true for us all: these years have an enormous impact on who we become as adults. We can all sympathize with the plight of puberty and the longing for independence and acceptance. Yeah, there’s still a teenager in all of us!

These are the reasons I write YA.

My hope is to use the power of storytelling to move past barriers and open hearts to accept how much God loves and desires a personal relationship with us.

At every age, we all need the grace and love of Jesus.

In the Beauties from Ashes (BFA) series, I write about relatable characters with difficult issues and traumatic pasts to enlighten readers about the unseen spiritual battle referred to in Scripture. Each character has a secret that has left them vulnerable to the battle in an invisible realm where demonic creatures fight to keep them chained to their pasts and angels of light work to free them.

The characters and their issues are complex, just like real life. In fact, some of the topics are often considered too taboo to talk about openly. But what is left in the dark, festers and grows. It is only in the light that we can be free. In the BFA series, readers experience the character’s quest for truth, love, grace, and freedom while hopefully finding the same for themselves.

Blog Stops

Genesis 5020, December 23
Simple Harvest Reads, December 24 (Author Interview)
Texas Book-aholic, December 25
Emily Yager, December 27
Blogging With Carol, December 30
For Him and My Family, December 31
Artistic Nobody, December 31 (Author Interview)
Remembrancy, January 1
janicesbookreviews, January 3
A Reader’s Brain, January 4


To celebrate her tour, Beckie is giving away the grand prize of a $20 Amazon gift card!!
Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! Click the link below to enter.


Calvin F. said...

Neat book, glad to have checked your site out too. Good tour. Happy holidays

Caryl Kane said...

Wonderful review! This series sounds like a good one to share with the young adults in my life.